top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Gruzelier

"You look like Sinead O'Connor!"

Updated: Aug 12, 2018

The next week that passed I had a myriad of tests, blood tests, heart tests, MRI scans, portocath surgery, the whole works. I felt like a human pin cushion. All came back very positive so I started to gain confidence. The days were busy, passed fast and came with a multitude of emotions. Sometimes I was up, sometimes down.


Plates were broken in the making of this story.


I decided to shave my head the day I had my portocath surgery. I did this to gain control over the experience, and also, who can be bothered caring for hair when your battling for your life. "You look like Sinead o Connor!" my father said after the shearing was complete. My brother, boyfriend and Mum shaved my head for me.


It was a very special experience, having your loved ones shave your head. It took a total of 1.5 hours to remove the hair from my head. It lay in a large pile on the floor. The different tones and colours from years of hair die created this amazing motley affect. I wish I could of donated it but you cant if you hair has been coloured, it must be virgin hair.


I looked at myself in the mirror and I barely recognised myself. All I needed was two black stripes of paint smeared across my cheeks and I would look like a solider getting ready to face off in battle. That day was the start of my war against cancer.


89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page