top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Gruzelier

"This is truely unfair, I'm so sorry honey."

Updated: Aug 12, 2018

I was taken into the Mamogram room with the assistant. She was a lovely lady. I looked at her and all she said was "This is truely unfair, I'm so sorry honey." at that point, I knew I had cancer.


The biopsy was the worst. A small slit is made under your breast and a large needle is inserted to take portions of the tumor for testing. This was done four times and was one of the most horrible experiences I have had in this whole journey so far. I held my mums hand, I told her she was beautiful and no matter what, I would beat this.


"We are very concerned" was the radiologist answer when I asked him what it was. I had cancer that was for sure, but what stage? How big? Where had it spread too? These were the questions that ran through my head for the next two days while I waited for the results of the biopsy.


My whole life flashed before my eyes. The following days were the hardest days of my life. I don't even want to think about how dark it got, or tell you. It was excruciating.


On the Friday, 20th of July, my friend Christine, my mum and I were back at the clinic, all holding hands, waiting to find out the future of my existence.


"We got it early."

"We have a nice little treatment plan for you."

"Your curable."

"This is just a blip."

"Your going to be a survivor and help others."


These are the very few sentences I remember from that day.


My diagnosis:

Stage 2, Her2+, ER+/PR+ Multifocal infiltrating ductal carcinoma.

Node Negative Breast cancer.


I was ready to tackle this, with my army of family and friends I am going to fight this thing and I am going to win.

121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page