top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Gruzelier

Sparkie


Since moving out of home I have really craved the attention of a pet. At home I have my wonderful dog Aggie - she has always featured heavily on my social media. She has been of great comfort to me throughout different stages in my life. Leaving her was very hard and I love going home to see her as much as I can.


I was thinking the other day, why not adopt an animal? I thought about all the different animals I could, Rabbit, Fish, Cat, Dog.. and I decided, with Nick that we should adopt a Cat. We wanted an older cat, something pre trained and happy to be indoors as we live in an apartment, with no land, in the middle of Auckland City. I get very lonely during chemo weeks so having an animal around the house to keep me company will make nick feel better leaving me when he has to go work.


Nick wasn't completely sold on the idea but I knew if I lured him to the SPCA he just wouldn't be able to help himself - he is such a softie. We originally went in with the idea of getting a 2-3 year old cat but Sparkie, a 10 year old girl cat, found astray three weeks ago stole both our hearts. Straight away she was snuggly and open to our love. After explaining our story the SPCA felt she would be a great fit. The SPCA named her and we thought the name was so cute we kept it, it also signified the start of her new life when they rescued her. I wonder what her name was before?


I have been given another chance at life and I wanted to do the same for an animal. By adopting a senior cat and looking after it in the last years of it's time here on earth I feel I have done this. She is such a beautiful soul - she has had no accidents (fingers crossed) and seems to be adapting to her new life with us very well.


If you are interested in adopting a cat or another animal from SPCA it is the most rewarding thing you could ever do.


Here is our girl. Sparkie. Adoption date: 1st September 2018.





46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page