top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Gruzelier

Chemo 2/6


I underwent my second lot of chemo yesterday. I immediately showed quite a few side effects last night, funny tummy, wind, instant fatigue, appetite loss, sore throat - definitely didn't feel as well as I did the day of my first treatment. I have woken up today not feeling much better, I am going to go for a walk soon while the rain has cleared. They recommend 30 minutes of light exercise a day, good for the mental state and also for the body. I don't want to be chubby and bald - no thanks - I'll leave that up to my dad (bless him, he will find that funny)


I did my chemo yesterday with a younger crowd of people. I tried to make friends with one lady sitting next to me, she too was battling breast cancer, but she wasn't really up for it. Thats OK, it's not that she isn't coping and I am, It's that everyone deals with this differently, there is not a right or wrong way.


I have always loved making friends, hell, I will talk to anyone who will listen - a trait in my mother I use to find embarrassing as a teenager. Now I am her, and proud.


I also had a call from my surgeon Erica, she had some great news for me. No BRCA 1 or BRCA 2 gene present. I do not carry the breast cancer/ovarian cancer gene. They tested for this because it determines my surgery and also whether I am at risk of ovarian cancer too. As I don't have the gene my risks of breast cancer developing again before I'm 80 years old goes from 80% to 20% (The normal populations risk is 14% of developing breast cancer before the age of 80 years old) she said I could keep my left breast which has no cancer in it at present. I decided to still go with the removal and reconstruction of both. I think this will keep my mind at ease and will stand me in good stead physically and mentally for the rest of my life.


Health Insurance


Also, I have been speaking to a lot of you young ones who don't have health insurance, either your parents have kicked you off their policy or you have never had it. We do have an incredible public system however the wait lists can, in some cases, be long. Once you get in your cooking with gas and they rush you through with quality identical care provided through private, as a lot of nurses and doctors from private also work public. The reason I opted for private care for chemo and surgery is because needed time on my side. As I am so young they wanted to get me going on treatment asap because the cancer was spreading fast. i also wanted my surgeon who has been there every step of the way with me, from diagnosis, and she only works privately now. After surgery I will be placed in the care of the public system.


The reason why I urge all of you to get health insurance now is because most insurers will not ensure you for pre-existing conditions. Now I have had cancer, I have to stay with NIB cause no insurer would touch me again. I urge all of you, it's a small price to pay to have protection for when your older and just an extra safety net if you need private care at some point.

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page