top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDani Gruzelier

Nick.

Nick came along when I least expected - I know that is cliche but this is the truth.


I had finished my time in London and got back to NZ, I wound up back where I had left. At home with my parents and back at my old job. I knew I wasn't happy there as soon as I walked through the door. A lot had changed in my life over the past eight months and I felt out of place, the old shoe didn't fit like I imagined it would.


I finally was happy being single, got into a routine of doing things on my own and was no longer lonely. I downloaded Tinder with the pressure from friends. I had used it in London and had some successful one nights stands, and sourced myself a few regulars I could see when I was feeling lonely but nothing with promise. Tinder in Auckland is a lot different to London, I knew about 80% of the male candidates that popped up on my screen.


I swiped right and left and up and down, it was fun and a great ego boost but really wasn't looking like I would find anyone, I wasn't too bothered I enjoyed my freedom.


I was at my friend Mila's house one afternoon and I found Nick.


Nick had a big smile, dimples to kill for and a very bare profile. Most of the men on Tinder boast about their lives and have disrobed images of their bodies to entice the female to swipe right. Nick's profile wasn't like this and I was intrigued.


Tinder, like all social media, lets you curate the life you want to present to the world. These profiles lined up one after another like the ladies I saw posing in windows in the red light district of Amsterdam.


I decided to swipe right on Nick. It wasn't till a few days later I got the notification "You have a new match!" lighting up my phone screen. It was Nick, he thought I was cute too.


We arranged to meet at a Thai restaurant. That night I was nervous, I'm sure everyone can relate to this. I went over to my friend Katie's to have a few drinks to ease the butterflies. I definitely had too many. I always over shoot with these things.


I got to the restaurant, I was early. I messaged Nick saying I had arrived as he instructed me to do. I looked up and he was walking towards me. All in black which highlighted his breath taking tattoo collection. His smile was so amazing, it instantly took away my nerves and I felt comfortable straight away.


Nick has this effortlessly cool vibe, he has his own opinions, he is kind and very generous with his time and money. His laugh is wicked and comes from his belly, i love making him laugh. His eyes are a light blue and are framed by smile lines. And, as I mentioned, those dimples, they would make any women weak at the knees.


We spent three hours at the restaurant, chatting away. There was no lull in conversation and I had a really nice time. I hoped he felt the same. We stayed until the owners slowly pushed us out of the restaurant packing up around us. He paid and walked me to my car. No kiss goodbye but I knew I wanted to see him again. I texted my mum straight after "I found him".


- For Nick, the love of my life.

122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page